Does anyone own FF8??

Brillow_Head

I had this game for the PC when I was a freshman in college. I had never played a FF series game before and I was totally blown away. The graphics were beautiful, the CG was amazing, the story (while a bit out there) drew me in and sucked me competely dry emotionally.

Things I liked: The steal spell abillity. I was maticulous when I played this game (kinda like playing GTA and going for the 100% compeletion, I didn't want to miss anything) I'd sit there and draw full inventories of spells each creature had for each character in my party before killing it. I was great when, for example, you didn't have a healing spell but your enemy did, so you stole their spell and cast it on yourself.

The Gaurdian Forces abilities. Not only did they act as uberpowerful spells, they had abilities similar to real characters that you could share with the character you junction to (See junctioning for more info).

The World View. I never had seen such an open system where you could wander around anywhere you want on a globe as long as you had the means to get there. You weren't restricted to a map with a red arrow pointing to the only way you could go to exit like in FFX (although it got a bit better when you got the airship).

The junction system. By far the highest learning curve to properly leveling your characters but once you master it your dudes were uber. It works this way...