Racing games!

*BiGBonES**

Are there any driving/racing game fans out there?

I'm looking to get a steering wheel and footpedals for my PC at christmas, but I'm new to this genre of game.

I'm looking for a fast, action packed type of full on racing game, where you get behind the wheel of a car and see it in first person perspective, or can hover above the car. GTA isn't really my type of game, as I'm looking for more driving than missions.

So if anyone could recommend some games, I'd be very greatful.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Has anyone got any recommendations for foot pedals and steering wheels?

I'm looking for a steering wheel that I can easily move around and will fix onto my desk with little effort.

Also, do you think a gear stick is necessary?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Do you think its a waste of money? Is this whole steering wheel thing over-rated? I think its a quality way to relax after doing some work, and will be quite a fun way to play some drinking games when I bring my friends round, but I could be wrong.

What are you waiting for? Discuss discuss discuss :bang:

I have a Logitech MOMO Force and its amazing. The force feedback is great, i might have mine set to high but i remember one time in NASCAR, i accidently ran into the center pit wall (yeah, i know, i suck at driving) and the wheel jerked out of my hand, it was then i realized it was worth every penny.

It screws onto a desk with rubber clamps and the pedals have groovy "carpet grippers" that work like velcro on carpets so they arn't sliding around. It also has a gear shifter which i use in games like Need for Speed but in NASCAR or Indy games i use the butterfly shifters directly behind the wheel. The wheel is all completly rubber so it never slips out of your hand when you're going around a corner or if your palms get sweaty.