Has anyone tried downsampling?

VooDooPC

(edited)

I was bored so I wanted to try out downsampling screenshots. For anyone that doesn't know it's a simple technique used to get better looking screenshots. I'm a total newb at it since I've just been messing around with it today.

The basic concept is you force your video card to run a game at a really high resolution, slap all the anti-aliasing on it you can, even if it runs at 5fps. You then take your screenshot and rescale it in Photoshop to a lower resolution. This keeps the texture clarity and edge crispness of the higher resolution but scaled to a lower resolution, it looks really good.

bioshockds13ccoz.png

bioshockds2esecq.png

masseffectdsn4fr4.png

tanksds1kdey1.png

tanksds22icty.png

tanksds3drcvf.png

tanksds4rseix.png

Bioshock Infinite is using in game AA, I'm not sure if it's multisampling or just something like FXAA.

Mass Effect 3 in 1080p is highest in game settings with AA, their AA isn't great. The downsampled screenshot uses 4x multisampling and 4x SGSSAA.

World of Tanks is only using in game AA, which is FXAA.

Gear Up is using in game AA, I think it's multisampling... maybe...

I've been trying out a number of games I have installed. The result is best when you throw on a bunch of extra AA on, like I did with Mass Effect 3. I've been working with the Nvidia Inspector to put 4x multisampling and 4x SGSSA on more games.

You can learn more about downsampling here:

http://www.tested.co...ample-pc-games/

Edited by VooDooPC
  • Like 1

It takes a bit of finicking to find out the maximum resolution your PC can handle.

Here's more of very early Bioshock Infinite:

And yes, I upload them to some random German site...

For some reason it won't let me view em - I click on the link and the pic begins to download, but then Google pops up and asks me if I want to translate the page and I say no, and then BAM! The pic doesn't load. :(