Hammer

mookie

I started playing with Hammer today (working on making the Stack from Goldeneye as a simple level). Anyway, I started using the vertex tool to make ramps, and somehow I got a box on the map that wasn't anything (went to properties, it had no properties). It wouldn't go away, so I saved and reloaded. Now that box is gone, but there's no picture in the camera view! This is a big problem. I've tried it on wireframe, textured, and the otehr one, all with no luck. I can position a camera inside my rooms and it shows up on the three views, and i can even move the angle of the camera by clicking and dragging in the camera pane, but I get no image. The level still plays fine, so I don't think it's a light source issue. If anyone knows how to fix this, let me know, because I'd rather not scrap an hour or so of work.

Hrm. Intriguing. It won't be a lighting issue, because lights don't exist inside Hammer. They have to be rendered first.

Have you rebooted? The 3D view is just a GL window - or at least, it has been since just after Half-Life. So if it's monkeying around, it could be Windows' fault.

GC Alumni

Just rebooted the computer and it's working fine now. Must have had something to do with me checking the "don't show this again" box when it said my machine was crying like a baby. Probably pressed undo too many times.

Ice, are you talking about ...Temple?

And Mookie, that would make sense. The warning for the system load has been happening more since it was build into the new Source SDK. ...it has been lagging a little bit more than it used to. But it's also more stable than it used to be. I just turned it right off, and I really haven't had a problem, except for a little lagging here and there when I zoom out, which can't be helped right now, anyway. Just save often, reload often and you should be relatively good.

...and yes, pop-up boxes + GL windows = badness. Very badness.

GC Alumni