Spiffy project for work

Windex

(edited)

My boss asked me if there was anyway we could have a program run on our client PC's so if the user executed it they could send a "trouble ticket" to our website which can then be tracked..

Aka.. a home brewed lightweight ticketing system..

In 2 days I built an app that Automatically collects machine name, logged in user, time the app was executed, user can enter complaint and submit.

-That info all gets sent to The assigned tech's e-mail and pager, then it dumps into a sql db that is then accessed via our internal website using PHP

-When we close the ticket resolution is logged and an automatic e-mail is then triggered to the user that submitted the request notifying them of resolution and asking if there's anything else we can help with..

Andddd I'm not a programmer lol but I probably should be :) just need some more schoolin and experience!

-I've had a class vb.net back in '04 and one SQL class while I was taking VB.. buttt thats it

*I'd like to say it's already done but I've got some error handling to build in still on both the app and web side :-\ booo!

Edited by Windex

especially with microsoft being kind and releasing all of these "Express" versions.. buy a book and go to town! I just don't have the self discipline to do it, I learn much better through auditory and experience.. a knowledgeable teacher to go to as a resource is a huge help as well!

first program i built for myself was an MP3 alarm clock which had 3 different alarms you could set, weekend alarms, daily, weekdays only, and specific day selection. each one also would pop your own message up on the screen (ie. Drop of rent check in mail on way to work) and would bump up your pc and media volume to ensure it worked :) No clue what i did with it though haha