OC temps

dragonfly

I've OC'd my 4200+ to 2.39ghz, and I was wondering about temps...

Specs:

Asus A8N s939 sli premium

4200+ x2

pc4000 OCZ xtx gold

and for heatsink, TT big typhoon

This IS my first build and attempt at OC ever, so I'm probably doing somethign wrong. At stock speed, my idle temp for my proc was about 28-32 area (36-38 at load), and board was about 38 or 40 (i think). I oc'd to 2.39 and now my temps at idle at about 34-36 and under load at about 42 for my proc. This feels kinda high to me. BTW, to get temps I'm using the asus ai booster (but not to OC - using bios).

question 1: is this thing accurate?

question 2: this feels high, is it? should I be worried?

question 3: if yes to question 2, what do i do to fix it?

thanks guys!

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I DONT know if those are accurate temps, BUT, if they are...

Under 50C at load on and amd is ok. No worries. If your poppin over 50, start realizing that the life of your cpu IS getting shorter.

First..what is load to you? If I run dual prime 95 ( on my dual core) Ill hit and hold 49. But, gaming is only in the high 30s.

Obviously, I will never run prime and 100% tax both cpus in real life.

Next: Hows your caseflow? A major part that people dont realize...get that hot air OUT of there! Makes all the diff in the world.

not sure on accuracy. use a program called coretemp as that will give you best chance at getting accurate temps. also, make sure coolnquiet is disabled in bios. NEVER oc with that on. newbs to ocing typically overlook this so just making sure.

as for temps, 42c is just fine. have you raised the voltage? 42c does seem a bit hit for bigtyphoon and stock volts. what's your ambient?

if possible, take a picture of your system with the side panel off to give us an idea for air flow and fans. then we can suggest ways to help or tell you if it's all good.

I can't get a pic at the moment unfortunately - no camera. But as for fans: