well..just bought my first DSLR

Shazz

Its a Nikon...hope you people are Nikon friendly. Cause I am a noob.

I bought the D40 with two lenses. The 18-55mm and the new 55-200 VR lens (vibration reduction).

Gotta sweet deal on it with a extra 4 hour battery and 5 year warranty (which isn't bad at all). Plus 4 uv and polar type filters...still noobish here.

Anyway. Here is where I got some recommendation. Ken Rockwell is a well known photographer and here is what he said about it http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/recommended-cameras.htm also here is his dedicated page to the D40 http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d40.htm

Any tips or computer programs (advice) are greatly welcomed. I would also like to get one of those portable hard drives that you can put your SD card into and it will download all your picks onto it. Anyone know if those are worth the money? I don't wanna lug around my laptop for that. Plus backing up my photos. Tips on that I really need.

:)

Awesome! DSLR's are a lot of fun. And it sounds like you're off to a good start -- the D40 is a good starter camera, and Ken Rockwell has a lot of good information.

As far as the portable hard drives go, are you planning on taking a TON of pictures? Or a lot in RAW mode? If so, that'd be a good investment. Otherwise, skip the expense -- digital photography can quickly become an expensive hobby. :)

• 1 month later...