Hello, real world!

dragonfly

So I finished my degree in math with a minor in computer science at Lakehead University last year. That's in Thunder Bay, just to the left of the peak of Lake Superior for those of you too lazy for google maps :)

Anyway, this year I've been doing teacher's college (also at LU) and tomorrow is my last day of placement!!! I've been teaching grades 10 and 11 computer science (VB and Turing) as well as a grade 9 applied math. I'm gonna miss it, but I'm just super excited to be done school and start to pay off student loans as fast as possible. :luxhello:

Thought I'd share. I have a couple of leads on jobs that look promising in Rainy River (also in ON) or Emo (also in ON). I was offered a job on Baffin Island, but that's a tad bit isolated even for me. :D I know most of you are all old :halo: and have been out of school for a long time but I'm super excited to be done and start to see my free time disappear :D

Edited by dragonfly

Thanks guys!!! Although I technically finished today I'm going back tomorrow to mark. I wanted to give my Turing class one more day to work on their game (moonlander).

anonymo, teaching is going to be so much busier than being in school taking classes. I'm going to get into coaching vball (if I can), etc. Not that I'm specifically excited to lose free time, but I'm excited to get involved in real-life stuff, not just theoretical modelling of bound or unbound drum heads using partial differential equations. :D

Oh yeah on the time issue, I had soooo much more free time once I started working. While at college I had classes, homework, exams, plus a 25-30 hr week part time job. Probably spent 35 hrs a week between classes and study, then 25-30 working... so like 60-65 hrs of responsibility a week instead of 40. Much less free time then.

So for a grad present, a bunch of friends/family pitched in and I get to go parachuting!!!!! :D :D :D :D :D