Fatty

Ok, we've got permission to pull the cover off of this:

conradDSC04136.jpg

Who's going to do that?

Next, we need to pull electricity from this:

conradDSC04142.jpg

down this:

conradDSC04143.jpg

which is about 125 yards. I've been told that's going to take some heavy gauge stuff, so who can get their hands on that?

Guest [DLM]->Mike
Guest [DLM]->Mike
Guest [DLM]->Mike
Guests
(edited)

where in OH is this?

btw. i got a electronics degree.

edit: akron eh. trip time is about 5 hours. i will see if its possible to make it. if I can I could do the wiring. as for the gauge of wire I will need to know about (within 3-4pc's) how many pc's will be there and who is buying the equipment?

Edited by [DLM]->Mike

Fatty is there any utility poles closer to that barn with electricity on it? Or are there any pad-mount transformers that feed underground nearby? It just seems that it would be easier to hook up a temporary service for the weekend if that was the case. 325 ft is quite a distance to run from that receptical, and for the gauge wire you would want to run, we would need a male plug that is rated for 50 amps at least (IMHO) or you would burn up the plug.

Another way we could spread some of the load would be to feed a sub-panel out of the exsisting breaker panel, that way we can best make use of all 240 volts, rather than just using 120.

And for anyone that may get the idea of running a generator to feed their computer, I would strongly suggest against it. There is a percentage of distortion in generators that ='s very bad for electronics.

GC Founder
->Mike,Jul 12 2003, 03:54 AM] as for the gauge of wire I will need to know about (within 3-4pc's) how many pc's will be there and who is buying the equipment?

I meant gauge because someone said that in order to run electricity so far using extension cords, you'd need a higher gauge cord. I should have said extension cord. We need to get the juice from that poll down to the barn...somehow.