Investing in Real Estate

MrDuke

Shazz,

You said you had some questions about investing in real estate so I thought we could discuss it openly so others might learn something.

** I am by no means an expert. **

We (my wife and I) acquired our financial knowledge and business philosophy from various sources and by learning from our mistakes.

If you never make mistakes, you will never succeed.

Duke

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm learning already!

What was Shazz's question?

Maybe he could start us off. :)

Shazz was talking on gamechat (no, really) and said he wanted to ask me a few questions about it. I said we'd talk later and we never have so I thought we could open up a topic on it.

Question 1:  Do I need cash to put down for a 2nd property or investment property?

It depends on how creative you make the deal and/or where your credit is.

First thought- tap the equity in your home.

Second thought: No money down (nmd) deals

Nmd deals, which made Carlton S. rich and famous, are a double-edged sword. BTW- Carlton S's is making money by selling information, not real estate--think about it.

If you work out a nmd deal, you have cash to do another deal but your debt/income ratio is pushed higher. Using traditional lenders, you are held to 40%. I use lenders that allow me to go above that ceiling but even they have limits. If you continue to buy rentals ( why would you stop?), that will come into play.

Also, when utilizing nmd deals, 99% of the time you end up over-paying for that property. You really make your money in the buying and selling of property--collecting montly rent just gives you some cashflow. If you buy at an inflated price regardless of the reason, you are cutting into your profits-if there are any profits to be had--when you sell.

I prefer no more than 5% down to buy a property.