Which is better

Magruter

Alright i'm trying to quit smoking, This will be my 4th day. I can't say without smoke, but i had a drag last night and it wasn't gratifing at all.. ..so i just held it for a while and then put it out. Something about grilling, a beer, and a smoke, just another habit to break. Well back on point, i've been eating alittle more since i quit, interm gaining weight. I just need some push here... I need to know i'm doing the better thing by quiting smoking. I've been working on loosing weight for a 6 months, (40lbs lost) by just eating better. Which brings me to my next question:

Would you rather have a single peice of exercise equipment or have a membership to a gym? I need to start working out to get into better shape and to also show myself why i'm quitting smoking. I know most of the people workout who look at this forum. What are your thoughts??

That question its entirely about your preferences.

I personally dont go to the gym because I think it involves more effort than staying at home. The majority of exercises the machines at the gym provide can be recreated at home. If you buy a set of weights for the use of your home, you can get really fit and healthy if you work out your muscles using them wieghts and doing some simple but effective heart exercises like running a few laps in the local park. The price of buying a set of weights for your home will probably amount to about 1 month of gym membership, so its a lot cheaper!

It was also save time and money get to and from a the gym (unless you live very close to one), which in my eyes is a benefit.

But the gym offers huge advantages aswell:

- The machines, along with the gym staff will ensure that you are carrying out the exercises correctly so you dont do any serious damage to yourself

- If everyone around you is working out hard it will encourage you to work out a bit harder. At home it can be hard to keep yourself going when it gets hard.