I haven't died... yet...

dragonfly

Hey guys!

I haven't died yet, as you already read in the topic title. It's much worse than that - I'm a first-year teacher.

Right now I'm actually living in a town called Emo in NW Ontario. It has a booming population of 1200 or so, and that's why it's taken me 4 1/2 weeks of living here to get the internet.

Now that I am connected to the world again I dont really have much time for that sort of thing. In a 4 period day I'm teaching 5 classes - 3 maths, a physics and a business course. I love the school/kids, but the work load is pretty demanding. Oh yeah, and I'm the IT contact for the school, so if there's a problem they call me.

Anyway, wanted to stop in and say hi, I miss it here, and who knows next time I'll be back. :)

Congrats on the wedding Jiffy!

Sounds like you got it made. The more responsibility you have the better. Kids dive into physics in high school now? I wish they offered that when I was a kid; I would of been more interested in math.

Does the grass cut itself in the small town of Emo? :lol2:

Edited by ThruX

lol So many grass jokes.

The school is about 34 kids or so (high school only for that number). But the elementary school is next door, which makes it GREAT for getting the students helping with the younger children, teaching them that responsibility, etc.

As for the $$$ I get double cheques a week apart in June to cover June/July, and I got one August 31 (though that was my first official day of work). Gonna try to kill the student loans in about 2 years (34k ish). Oh, and no, I don't work summers.

This last summer I got to do some fun stuff. As a grad gift I went skydiving - so much fun!!! 11k feet, free-fell for 35-40 seconds. I also went to Canada's Wonderland (6 flags place with roller coasters, etc), played lots of halo3, worked at camp (of course), etc.

I'll have to post pics someday when I get some time. I still have to mark tests tonight (it's 9:30 already). Nice to hear from you guys!