New Computer parts... not so good

nut

YES!

ok.. this is what has happend these past 2 weeks...

i graduated from mid school... and got some presents supprisingly ... i got 100 bucks from my dad 50 and some clothes from my mom and 25 or so from my aunt...

total 175

i bought a g-force 5200FX... pure crap...

i read up on it and it was great reviews... but one crappy card..

so... i sent it back on RMA back to newegg...

then...

i bought 2 games of the internet... DAOC SI AND DAOC TOA...

they are on back order... so i have to call them to tell them to cancel the order...

and then buy it in the store...

BUT...

the first good thing to happen out of this is my brothers friend is upgrading his computer... so he has 2 sticks of 256= 512 2100... i already have a stick of 256... and my games lag really really bad...

i got the sticks put em in ...

played daoc... i port so quick you wouldnt believe...

but thats the experience of stupidity =)

NuT- :D

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I personally, as a gamer, will not buy "second tier" video cards.

Right now on a budget I suggest the 9800 Pro as a starting point, if you can't buy it now keep saving. ~$200

For higher end the X800 Pro and 6800 GT are both great cards, and you'll "get what you pay for". ~$425

The X800 XT and 6800 GT Ultra are only for those with the money and desire for the best. ~$525

Are you a gamer or a "mainstream consumer"?!

Try going from 512mb to 1gb or RAM when you can (best wait for your next mobo/cpu, don't get too invested in PC2100). BF1942/DC/BFV run great, instant jump between gameplay and server list screen. WoW runs quite nice on 1gb too. :wavey:

/agree bullet. 1.5gig of ram > 1gig > 512mb in gaming. I haven't experienced having enuf of it yet.

as to the video card, if you ever have a question of what you should be looking for come to Hardware/Software. We don't bite :angry:

none of the FX line can stand up to their ATI competitors